Young Performers Competition

The Young Performers Competition an annual competition sponsored by The Cantata Singers of Elmira for the purpose of providing local youth between the ages of 15 - 20 the opportunity to further develop and showcase their musical talents, and to encourage and promote the love and continued performance of live classical music in the Southern Tier.

Who is eligible? Accomplished musicians between the ages of 15-20. Vocal or instrumental solo and ensemble entries will be accepted.

Any classical composition is acceptable for performance, encompassing all art music from Renaissance to the present.

Competition Winner: The winning student will receive a scholarship of $150, and will perform their winning piece The Cantata Singers’ concert on May 21st at 4 PM.

Submit completed applications to or by USPS to Cantata Singers, PO Box 952, Elmira, NY 14902  by 3/20/17. All contestants must preregister. 

Auditions will take place on 4/1/17 at 1st Presbyterian Church, Clinton St., Elmira, NY.


All participants must be within the approved age range of 15-20 at the time of the competition.

Participants will perform a classical composition of their choice.

Entries may be instrumental or vocal.

Entries may be solo, duet, or ensemble.

Memorization is preferred but not required.

A piano will be available but participants should provide an accompanist.

Time limit - the performance should be 10 minutes or less.

All participants are asked to submit at least one copy of their music manuscript to the judges prior to the audition.